UPDATED: 12/05/2020

Stay home!  That is the message as the States close borders and go into lockdown.  The cross border travel restrictions include air, road and rail travel and are unprecedented in their roll out and likely impact.  The system for allowing essential travel will likely change rapidly over the next few days and weeks, and ACAPMA will keep this article updated, but for now the following links lead to the detailed information;

Essential Travel Exemptions

There are State based arrangements to allow workers who are moving freight interstate, crossing a border to work in or on a business that is open and allowing trade (this includes wholesale and retail fuel sites).  Each State is developing systems to allow for as smooth a transition as possible for these people who have an essential need to cross the borders.  But the message is clear to everyone else – STAY HOME!





  • Current Status: OPEN – NO RESTRICTIONS
  • Constraints: NONE
  • Exemption Information: N/A
  • Exemption Application: N/A


  • Current Status: OPEN – NO RESTRICTIONS
  • Constraints: NONE
  • Exemption Information: N/A
  • Exemption Application: N/A

Northern Territory




  • Current Status: OPEN – NO RESTRICTIONS
  • Constraints: NONE
  • Exemption Information: N/A
  • Exemption Application: N/A


Current Status: OPEN – with constraints

Initial Constraints:
All arrivals from interstate will be required to self-isolate for 14 days

Further Regional Measures:
The WA Government has introduced further restrictions on travel within Western Australia to assist in reducing the spread of COVID-19. After 11:59pm Tuesday, 31 March 2020 Western Australians will not be allowed to travel outside their designated region.

If you are currently outside of your region, you should return home immediately. 

Western Australian intrastate travel is defined as movement through the boundaries of the regions of Western Australia.  

These regions are:

  • Perth and Peel (due to their proximity, the Perth and Peel regions will form one region)
  • South West
  • Great Southern
  • Goldfields-Esperance
  • Mid-West
  • Wheatbelt
  • Gascoyne
  • Pilbara
  • Kimberley.

Police have the power to enforce these restrictions, and fines of up to $50,000.

Exemptions will apply for:

  • people travelling to work
  • attending medical appointments
  • transporting freight
  • where necessary to attend school or an educational institution
  • those who do not have access to groceries or supplies within their region
  • approved compassionate grounds.

National parks remain open at this time, aside from some sites within parks that would normally receive high numbers of visitors. However, visitors must heed the new intrastate travel restrictions.

Access to designated regions, including the Kimberley (including the entire Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku, and parts of the Shire of East Pilbara encompassing the communities of Jigalong, Martu homeland communities and Kiwirrkurra) have additional stronger restrictions in place. This is to help curb the spread of COVID-19 into our very vulnerable communities, which could have catastrophic consequences. 

WA Govt has clarified that the FIFO exemptions extend to persons who live in WA but work intersate, as well as the other way around.
Workers are required to fill out this form prior to entering WA. The form will need to be emailed to WAEntryRequest@police.wa.gov.au BEFORE the traveller presents at the border. We would recommend that any FIFO worker obtain a detailed letter from their employer confirming their employment, details of the nature of their work and their schedules, their place of residence while in WA, the phone number of their employer for confirmation/extra information, and details of flights in and out of WA etc to make it easy for border control to identify them as exempt.

ACAPMA advises Members, if you encounter any issues in managing the impacts of your fuel operation in the face of these new arrangements please email communications@acapma.com.au