Motorists in New South Wales will benefit from the largest rollout of public kerbside EV chargers in the country, as the NSW Government awards the first round of electric vehicle kerbside charging grants.

The NSW Government is delivering on its election commitment to increase the take up of EVs by investing $4.1 million to install 671 EV charging ports at 391 sites across the state. This will be matched by $8 million in private investment.

Electric vehicles are not only driving down the cost of transport for NSW households, but they are also helping New South Wales to meet our net zero emissions targets. Expanding the state’s EV charging infrastructure network gives drivers the confidence to hit the road in an electric vehicle, knowing they have many options to top up the battery.

The new kerbside EV chargers will provide more convenient charging options for drivers without offsite parking, such as those in apartments and busy metro areas.

The kerbside chargers will be installed across 16 local government areas, by 8 grant recipients:

  • Waverley Council
  • City of Newcastle
  • Evie Networks
  • EVSE
  • EVX
  • Jolt Charge
  • Plus ES
  • ChargePost

The funding is for chargers ranging from 7 kilowatts to 75 kilowatts and will include pole mounted, pedestal and ‘kiosk’ EV chargers. They will be installed on kerbsides or in public council car parks.

All chargers will be installed over the next 12-months and will be open to the public 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

This is part of the NSW Government’s $209 million investment into charging infrastructure. The investment also funds:

  • $149 million for EV fast chargers which reduce the time it takes to top up batteries;
  • $20 million for EV destination charging grants to install ports at regional tourist destinations in New South Wales
  • $10 million in EV ready buildings to retrofit EV infrastructure in apartment buildings.

The NSW Government is committing $260 million to underpin the rollout of an updated NSW EV Strategy which will be released later this year.

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Penny Sharpe:

‘This investment will significantly increase the availability of public charging options and give people confidence their next vehicle purchase can be an EV.

‘Almost 30% of NSW drivers do not have access to private, off-street parking to charge an EV. That figure is considerably higher in metro areas.

‘We will continue to roll out EV charging grants to further support the NSW goal of being the easiest place in Australia to own and drive an electric vehicle.’


Member for Coogee Dr Marjorie O’Neill:

‘A combined total of $1.2 million will fund 202 charge ports across 138 sites in Sydney’s eastern suburbs.

‘We have now well surpassed our key election promise to deliver $700,000 to support EV charging infrastructure in Waverley, Randwick and Woollahra Councils.

‘This is further evidence that the interests of the people of my electorate of Coogee are best served by the Government.’


Electric Vehicle Council Chief Executive Officer Behyad Jafari:

‘We know convenient and visible charging infrastructure in densely populated areas is critical to giving people the confidence to switch to EVs.

‘These chargers mean everyone can benefit from EVs, including renters and people who can’t charge at home.

‘This investment is important not just for the direct amenity it provides, but also because it serves as a powerful signal to consumers that the NSW Government supports your move to a zero-tailpipe emission vehicle when you’re ready to make the switch.’


Round One recipients of the EV kerbside charging grants:

RecipientNumber of sites<Number of charge portsNSW Government funding
Evie Networks2680$800,000
City of Newcastle1030$270,572
Waverley Council3151$286,740
PLUS ES149149$794,979
JOLT Charge6599$180,000

671 chargers will be installed across 16 local government areas:

  • Blacktown City Council
  • Burwood Council
  • Council Of The City Of Sydney
  • Georges River Council
  • Inner West Council
  • Ku-ring-gai Council
  • Lane Cove Municipal Council
  • Liverpool City Council
  • Mosman Municipal Council
  • City of Newcastle
  • North Sydney Council
  • Northern Beaches Council
  • Randwick City Council
  • Waverley Council
  • Willoughby City Council
  • Woollahra Municipal Council

Extracted in full from: